The architecture of the ResilientAfrica Network (RAN) in Africa consists of four Resilience Innovation Labs (RILabs). The RILabs are focal points of technology innovation and commercialization of university research attracting local and national resources, sustainably funded, with replication potential across sub-Saharan Africa. RAN’s RILabs are the Eastern Africa RILab based in Uganda and hosted by Makerere University, West Africa RILab based in Ghana and hosted by the University for Development Studies, Horn of Africa RILab based in Ethiopia and hosted by Jimma University and Southern Africa RILab based in South Africa at University of Pretoria.

RAN Partner Universities


  • Uganda: Makerere University, Gulu University
  • Democratic Republic of Congo:University of Kinshasa
  • Rwanda: National University of Rwanda
  • Tanzania: Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences

HoA RILabs

  • Ethiopia: Jimma University, University of Addis Ababa, Bule Hora University
  • Kenya:University of Nairobi
  • Somalia: Benadir University


  • South Africa: University of Pretoria, University of Limpopo
  • Malawi: Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Somalia: Africa University


  • Ghana: University for Development Studies, University of Education-Winneba
  • Mali:University of Sciences, Techniques and Technology of Bamako
  • Senegal: Cheikh Anta Diop University of Dakar


Where we are